A Great Night Out

Posted on



I had a great time just now. We were having iftar at Nida, Syma and Umayma’s place and as usual, there’s huge crowd coming.

Umayma made pakora, samosa, curry meat, pasta and some cakes. Not quite a Malaysian choice for breaking the fast but I wasam glad that I came. I met with other Scottish classmates that I have spoken as well .We have great time meeting each other.

I had great laff and get to know my muslims friends better. It is so weird because all of us are completely different in the class and we were so much alike when we are outside of the school box. We were all so content I think by the responsibility that we need to hold, so all we can think of when we are in school just tonnes of work that would never end.I think thats what medical school is all about.

I am more attached to them now. Probably because I am quite used to them. And maybe because the warmth that my Glaswegian-born-Bangladeshi was everly warmth to everyone and makes everyone so attached to each other. I remember when i first came to Islamic circle inDundee, I never received a quite welcoming greeting. All I had was Salam but no one was actually talking to me. They were content with their other local friends who can speak with same speed like them. I was too shy to speak up but worstly, i have no idea what they are talking about! Dundonian accent was the worst accent I have ever heard of! It was so hard back then.

But Alhamdulillah, after 2 years in Dundee, I kinda get use to them, adapting some of the languange and phrases also begin to have self-confidence when talking to them. You see, being the only Malay girl in the class is not easy.I need to force myself to be included in the circle. And I have to push myself to be as friendly as I can.

And now it is time for me I think, to open my circle of attention to do the dakwah not only towards my malaysians communities, but most importantly, towards those people who I acquainted the most every day. I hope Allah will make it easy for me. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

